Department of Physiotherapy

  • Home
  • Physiotherapy

adesola 2 2
Prof. Adesola
 Departmental Head


I welcome you to the webpage of the Department of Physiotherapy, College of Medicine - a flagship of Physiotherapy training in Africa. The University of Ibadan- the premier University in Nigeria is the home of the oldest University -based Physiotherapy training programme in the West African sub-region wherein Physiotherapy undergraduate training was commenced in 1966 and subsequently postgraduate training in 1997. The postgraduate programme is a blend of teaching, clinical and research models of training particularly at the M.Sc., M. Phil. and M.Phil./Ph.D. levels. The Ph.D. degree program is research- based in areas of specialization including: Orthopaedic Physiotherapy; Cardio-respiratory Physiotherapy; Neurological Physiotherapy and Sports and Recreational Physiotherapy. I enjoin you to navigate this site and generally scan through the available human resource provision in the Department of Physiotherapy which over the years has been well equipped to offer excellent basic physiotherapy training, improved knowledge base for clinical scientists cum researchers and evident based Physiotherapy practitioners. The rich history of the department evolved from great contributions and excellent services of notable pioneers in the Profession: Pa Dr. T. Abayomi Oshin-the first African to qualify as a Physiotherapist. Prof. Arinola Sanya- the first Female Professor of Physiotherapy in Africa, she was the first female Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration) of the University of Ibadan and one-time Oyo State commissioner of Health. The department has achieved excellent faculties notable among which are Prof. Aderonke Akinpelu the current President of the Society for the Study of Pain, Nigeria (SSPN), Prof. T. K. Hamzat- the first Ph.D. graduate in the Physiotherapy program of the University of Ibadan and the first Professor of Neurological Physiotherapy in West Africa. Prof. B. O. A Adegoke, Chairman, Board of Trustees of the Association of Clinical and Academic Physiotherapists of Nigeria (ACAPN) and current Chairman, Publication Council of ACAPN; Dr. O. Ayanniyi – a McKenzie Diagnostic Expert and the first African faculty in the McKenzie Institute, New Zealand; Prof. A. F. Adeniyi, the current Deputy Provost of the College of Medicine; Prof. Adesola C. Odole - the first female Ph.D. graduate in the Physiotherapy program of the University of Ibadan and a member of the Board of Trustees of ACAPN and Dr. Omoyemi O. Ogwumike - immediate past Head of Department of Physiotherapy. Inclusive also are a host of other faculties and clinician physiotherapy practitioners who are in one way or the other contributing to the meritorious service and training in the program and representing the profession nationally and globally. Our array of alumni include: Prof. Chukwuka Enwenmeka (Provost and Senior Vice President of San Diego State University), Prof. Joseph A. Balogun (former Dean College of Health Sciences, Chicago State University Illinois), Prof. Akiniran Oladehin (Chairman, Department of Physical Therapy, Missouri State University, Springfield Missouri), Prof, Seyi Ladele Amosun (Director, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, University of Cape -Town, South Africa), Dr Godwin Eni (The first graduate of University of Ibadan B.Sc. Physiotherapy degree programme in 1969), Dr Kamaldeen Oluseye (former Head of Medical Rehabilitation program, King Saud University), Prof. Francis Fatoye (Manchester Metropolitan University, UK), Prof. M.O.B Olaogun (former Dean Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences Obafemi Awolowo Universiity, Ile-Ife), Prof. Isaac Owoeye (University of Lagos), Dr Ayodele Akinremi the first Ph.D candidate of the Cardio-respiratory specialty in the UI postgraduate Physiotherapy program and currently an Associate Professor at Hampton University, USA and Dr. Oluwole Jegede, an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at Yale University USA among others. In the 27 years of the establishment of the Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria- a regulatory body for practice of Physiotherapy and six other professions including Occupational therapy, Audiology, Prosthetics and Orthotics, Speech therapy, Osteopathic and Chiropathic medicines, all Registrars have been alumni of the Physiotherapy programme of the University of Ibadan. Over 900 Physiotherapists have graduated from various programs in the department. 50% of Physiotherapy lecturers in Nigeria had their undergraduate or postgraduate training in University of Ibadan while most of the Physiotherapy programmes in Federal and State Universities in Nigeria are currently headed by alumni of this programme and one of the two Physiotherapy programmes in Ghana is headed by a UI Physiotherapy alumnus.

Social Links

Get In Touch