The newly constituted Council of the University of Ibadan paid a courtesy visit to the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan (CoMUI) on Tuesday, 5 May 2021. The team was made up of the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council, Chief John Odigie Oyegun (South South); Dr. Masud Kazaure (Member, North West); Comrade Abba Yaro (Member, North Central); Alhaji Abubakar Maikafi (Member, North East) and Honourable Emeka Nwagbo (Member, South East). the new Council was accompanied by Professor A.B. Ekanola (Acting Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan); Professor K.O. Adebowale (Deputy Vice Chancellor Administration) and Mrs. Olubunmi Faluyi (Registrar and Secretary to the Council).

The Executive Committee (EXCO) of CoMUI led by the Provost, Professor Olayinka Omigbodun was on hand to receive the University Council. Other members of  the CoMUI EXCO present at the occasion  were  Professor Fatai Adeniyi (Deputy Provost); Dr. Ikeoluwapo Moody (Deputy Registrar and Secretary to the College); Mrs. Oluwafolakemi Ajayi (Financial Controller), Dr. Grace Ajuwon (Acting Medical Librarian), the Deans of the four Faculties: Professor S.B. Olaleye (Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences); Professor M.O. Owolabi (Faculty of Clinical Sciences); Professor G.R.E.E Ana (Faculty of Public Health) and Professor Juliana Taiwo, represented by Dr Bukola Adeyemi (Faculty of Dentistry) as well as Professor Catherine Falade (Director, Institute of Advanced Medical Research and Training).

Other distinguished faculties at the event were Professor Isaac Folorunsho Adewole (former Minister of Health and Academic Board Representative on the Court of Governors); Dr. A.M. Adeoye (Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee (CMAC), representing the Chief Medical Director, University College Hospital, UCH); Dr. Victor Makanjuola (Deputy CMAC, UCH); and Professor Aderonke Baiyeroju (former Deputy Provost, CoMUI).

While welcoming the eminent personalities, the Provost, Professor Olayinka Omigbodun noted that the arrival of the Council is timely as there is a lot of work to be done. She assured the Council members of the readiness of the CoMUI to partner with them to tackle the challenges on hand. She expressed the view that if the Council and the University community work in unity and synergy, great achievements will be recorded.

In his response, Chief Odigie Oyegun lauded CoMUI Management Team for upholding the values and standards for which the University of Ibadan Medical School is known and celebrated. He acknowledged the calm atmosphere in which all activities heralding their presence on campus have been conducted. He observed that all interactions have been conducted with maturity. The Pro Chancellor who also doubles the Chair of the Court of Governors of the College of Medicine, went on to observe that an enabling and peaceful setting will make for purposeful deliberations which will make possible the extraction of lasting solutions to the prevailing challenges in the institution. The Chairman of Council happens to be the fourth alumnus to occupy this position and he is a former Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC). He concluded his message on a note of optimism that if the University Council and the CoMUI Management Team work effectively together, the College of Medicine will experience tremendous progress which will earn it more worldwide recognition.

For the records, the University of Ibadan Council was constituted on 19 April 2021 by the Federal Government.

DSC 0854      DSC 0927

DSC 0905    DSC 0912

Social Links

Get In Touch