BUILT TO BUILD! College of Medicine, University of Ibadan MBBS/BDS Class of 1981 Donates State-of-the-Art Dental Chair

The Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Ibadan's College of Medicine recently experienced a heartwarming event. The Provost, along with the entire College Executive Committee, visited the faculty premises at 12:15 pm on Friday, 7th June, 2024. The purpose of their visit was to dedicate and receive a valuable gift of a state-of-the-art dental chair from the MBBS/BDS Class of 1981.

The Provost acknowledged the presence of key figures, including the Deputy Provost- Professor Ade Fatai Adeniyi, the Provost-elect and Dean of Clinical Sciences- Professor Temidayo Ogundiran FAS, Secretary to the College- Mr. Emmanuel Odedele, the Financial Controller- Mr. Samson Ayansina, the Medical Librarian, the Dean of Basic Medical Sciences- Professor Oyeronke Odunola, Dean of Public Health- Professor GREE Ana, Dean of Basic Clinical Sciences- Professor Fatai Fehintola, and the representatives of the MBBS/BDS Class of 1981: Professor Linus I. Okeke and Dr. Adanze O. Asinobi.

The Provost extended her gratitude to all attendees and gave special recognition to Professor Gbemisola Oke, an alumnus of the College from the MBBS/BDS, class of 1981, whose life journey and lifestyle serve as an inspiration to the entire College. Professor Gbemisola Oke is the current co-chair of the Building Committee overseeing the ongoing Students’ Hostel Building Project at the College, a former Dean of Dentistry, a former Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), and the President of the Ibadan Dental School Alumni Association (IDSAA).

On a personal note of gratitude, the Dean of Dentistry, Professor Kolude who received the CoMUI Executives lauded the Provost and the management for their instrumental roles in making the donation a reality. In particular, he expressed profound appreciation to the class of 1981 for their support.

The focal point of the event was the commissioning of the third instalment of dental chairs donated by the illustrious class of 1981. Building on the legacy set forth by previous MBBS/BDS Classes of 1995 and 1990, this latest contribution symbolizes a continued commitment to advancing dental education and patient care within the institution. The Dean also acknowledged the significant financial support from alumni, amounting to 19 million naira, approximately 19 thousand US dollars, and 500 pounds sterling.

Prof. L. I. Okeke, representing the class of 1981, shared the story of their call for help, affectionately known as "SOS - Save our School." This call to action inspired the class to donate a state-of-the-art dental chair. As the ceremonial handing-over took place, the Provost offered a heartfelt prayer, envisioning the dental chair as a seed of growth and prosperity for the Faculty of Dentistry.

Thereafter, the Provost and members of the management toured the clinics where the previously donated dental chairs from the MBBS/BDS Classes of 1990 and 1995 now reside. The Provost proposed a collaborative initiative with the University College Hospital (UCH) to leverage resources to enhance patient care by providing additional dental chairs for mutual benefit.

In closing, the Provost extended sincere appreciation to the donors and management for their unwavering support and dedication, paving the way for a brighter future in dental education and healthcare delivery.

The Provost appealed to every Dental Class of CoMUI to come together and donate at least one Dental Chair. The first Dental Class graduated in 1980 and as such there would be 44 dental graduating classes. The Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria had recommended a minimum of 30 new Dental Chairs.

2On arrival to the Faculty of Dentistry, College of Medicine, University of Ibadan

3Gift donation to the Faculty of Dentistry by the MBBS/BDS Class of 1981

2The Provost addressing the members of Management and officials present

2The Provost, Prof. Olayinka Omigbodun addressing the representative of the MBBS/BDS Class of 1981

2The Dean of Dentistry, Prof. Bamidele Folude addressing the members of the Management and official present

2Prof. L. I. Okeke relaying the message of the MBBS/BDS Class of 1981 to the Management

2The representatives of the MBBS/BDS Class of 1981, Prof. L. I. Okeke and Dr. Adanze O. Asinobi

2The Handing over the gift donation by the representatives of the MBBS/BDS Class of 1981 to the College of Medicine

2Members of Staff of one of the clinics in the Faculty of Dentistry

2The members of the Management in one of the offices of the clinic in the Faculty of Dentistry

2One of the dental chairs donated previously by an alumni class

2The Provost, Prof. Olayinka Omigbodun, and the Dean of Dentistry, Prof. Bamidele Kolude

2The Provost appreciating the representatives of the MBBS/BDS Class of 1981

2One of the representative MBBS/BDS Class of 1981, Dr. Adanze Asinobi with the Provost, Prof. Olayinka Omigbodun

2Provost-elect, Prof. Ogundiran, and one of the representatives of MBBS/BDS Class of 1981, Prof. L. I. Okeke

Social Links

Get In Touch