Department of Ophthalmology

  • Home
  • Department of Ophthalmology

Professor Tunji S. OLULEYE

 Departmental Head


The Ophthalmology Unit started as a part of the Department of Surgery in 1962.  It later became a full-fledged department under the headship of  Professor  Kodilinye. The primary functions of the department include training of medical students (MBBS) during their special posting rotation.

A block of lectures are also given to B.Sc. Nursing students of the Department of Nursing on ophthalmic diseases and eye care by the department. Postgraduate programs in the department include that for resident doctors a six-year course through which they can be certified by the National Postgraduate medical College and/or the West African Postgraduate Medical College. Other training courses organized by the department include the basic science module of the West African College of Surgeons Diploma in Ophthalmology course which trains doctors with basic medical qualifications to provide secondary level eye-care to Nigerians yearly, Intra ocular lens courses, and diagnostic and clinical courses for the different subspecialties of cornea and anterior segment, glaucoma, retina, paediatric ophthalmology, oculoplasty and neuro ophthalmology. Community ophthalmology courses are also organized for various levels of community eye care workers.  The MSc/ MPh / PhD  Ophthalmology program has been approved by the University senate and is currently been packaged for accreditation by National Universities Commission. In research, the department has been in the fore front of  several Nigeria Field surveys and clinical research are consistently planned and executed by individuals and groups in the department. Publications, memoranda and data emanating from research in the department have been invaluable to the development of ophthalmology in Africa south of the Sahara.

Social Links

Get In Touch