CoMUI Holds 3rd Induction Ceremony into the Medical Laboratory Science Profession

Graduands of the Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Sciences (BMLS) program of College of Medicine, University of Ibadan (CoMUI) were admitted into the Medical Laboratory Sciences profession on 22 April 2021. The ceremony which was the third of its kind took place at the Paul Hendrickse Hall of CoMUI. In attendance to represent the Acting Vice Chancellor was Professor J.O. Babalola (Provost, Postgraduate College). The CoMUI management team - Professor Olayinka Omigbodun (Provost, CoMUI); Professor Fatai Adeniyi (Deputy Provost); Dr. Ikeoluwapo Moody (Deputy Registrar/Secretary to the College); Mrs. Oluwafolakemi Ajayi (Financial Controller) and Dr Grace Ajuwon (Acting Medical Librarian) as well as the Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, Professor S.B. Olaleye graced the occasion.

Also, present to witness the event were the Chief Medical Director, University College Hospital (U.C.H), Professor J.A. Otegbayo represented by the Chairman Medical Advisory Committee (CMAC)- Dr A.M. Adeoye, ICOMAA President- Professor Dipo Otolorin, Registrar, Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria (MLSCN)- Dr Tosan Erhabor, Mr. Eugene.A. Mould -an elder in the MLS profession, Dr. Akinbola Idowu -Chairman, Oyo State Branch, Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria, among other dignitaries.

In her welcome address, the Secretary to the College, Dr. Ikeoluwapo Moody while congratulating the parents of the graduands applauded the inductees on the successful completion of the degree program. She charged them to be good ambassadors of CoMUI, their families and Nigeria as a whole. She assured them that as products of this great institution and prospective good representatives of the Medical Laboratory Science Department, the doors of CoMUI will always be open to them.

The Provost’s speech started on a note of commendation for the staff of the Biomedical Laboratory Science Department for their doggedness in bringing the dream of a Medical Laboratory Science Degree programme to fruition in spite of the scarcity of resources. The Provost counselled the inductees to be resourceful; reiterating that success in most endeavours is not always about resources but resourcefulness. She implored them to always develop quick and clever ways to overcome difficulties, while displaying team spirit, love and harmony as they venture into the multidisciplinary field of healthcare. In concluding her charge, the Provost admonished the inductees to leverage on the opportunity of the training received from CoMUI to explore the fields of Forensics, Molecular Biology and more.

The Chairman of the Induction Ceremony, Acting Vice Chancellor- Prof A.B. Ekanola, ably represented by the Provost of the Postgraduate College, Professor J.O. Babalola spoke glowingly of the giant strides of CoMUI locally and globally. He urged the inductees to see their profession as an opportunity to serve humanity. He encouraged them not to forget their classmates, stressing that networking is pivotal to great achievements in any field of human endeavour.

The Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, University of Ibadan- Prof S.B. Olaleye presented the students for induction. While presiding over the oath taking and presentation of professional license, Dr. Tosan Erhabor, Registrar, MLSCN remarked that the success story of the inductees would not be complete without an acknowledgement of the contributions of UCH. He emphasized to the inductees the need to conduct their affairs with dignity and uphold the good name of their school. The class Valedictorian, Mr Dolapo Damilare Olugbile who received a plaque and a certificate as the overall best student, appreciated the Vice Chancellor and the entire CoMUI management and faculty for providing an enabling environment, innovation and exemplary leadership. Three students-Dolapo Damilare Olugbile(Class Valedictorian), Lawal Abiola Taofeek and Ilesanmi Olamilekan John- graduated with First Class Honours and were awarded cash gifts of N50,000 each by MLSCN. The Provost’s awards for excellent participation in community life went to Miss Blessing Mojisola Ilori and Mr Ernesto Oluwafemi Dibia.

april 29 2

April 29 3

april 29 4

Social Links

Get In Touch