The sod turning activities for the new hostel for students of the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan (CoMUI) to be built in partnership with the Ibadan College of Medicine Alumni Association Worldwide (ICOMAA WW) which held in 3-tiers had started early in the day with an opening ceremony in the CoMUI Board Room. In attendance were the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Professor Kayode Adebowale, FAS, mni, the Deputy Vice- Chancellor (Academic), Professor Aderonke Baiyeroju and the immediate Past Vice- Chancellor, University of Ibadan, Professor Idowu Olayinka FAS.

sod 24

The First Female Provost of the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan (CoMUI), Professor Olayinka Omigbodun FAS who was also marking the start of her third year in office and her Deputy, Professor Fatai Adeniyi were supported by other members of the College Executive Committee including the Secretary to the College, Deputy Registrar David Oyejide, the Financial Controller, Mrs. Oluwafolakemi Ajayi, and the Acting Medical Librarian, Dr. Grace Ajuwon, alongside the Deans, Directors of Institutes and Heads of Departments. Professor Oyeronke A. Odunola, Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, Professor T.O. Ogundiran, Dean, Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Professor G.R.E.E. Ana, Dean, Faculty of Public Health and Professor B. M. Kolude, Dean, Faculty of Dentistry graced this truly august occasion. The Director of the Institute for Advanced Medical Research and Training, Professor Ikeoluwapo Ajayi and the Director, Institute of Child Health, Professor A. E. Orimadegun, were also in attendance.

The Provost welcomed all the dignitaries among whom were four Past Provosts. The Foundation Provost of CoMUI who had also served as Pioneer Chief Medical Director, University College Hospital - Emeritus Professor Oluwole Akande was in attendance. Other provost present were Professor Oladosu Ojegbende, Professor Temitayo Shokunbi FAS and Professor Babatunde Salako FAS, currently Director of the Nigerian Institute of Medical Research. 

sod 13

The first set of commemorative events witnessed the naming of the College Board Room after, the second CoMUI Provost, Professor A.O.K. Johnson. The unveiling of the plaque of the newly named Boardroom was done by Emeritus Professor Oluwole Akande. Some newly refurbished spaces like a Committee Room, Provost’s Conference Room, Provost’s Office, Technical Staff Office, male and female conveniences were also commissioned.

                                        sod 25    sod 25

The dignitaries then moved from the A.O.K. Johnson Boardroom to the proposed site of the New Hostel Complex for the sod- turning ceremony. Here, they were joined by members of the Board of Management of the University College Hospital (UCH) Ibadan led by the Chairman, Alhaji Ibrahim Bako Shettima. Other members of the Board present at this event were Hon Bamidele Oloruntoba, Dr Michael Somoye, Professor Titus Ibekwe, Professor Grace Fadupin, Dr. Adeyanju Olasoji and Professor G.O. Babawale. The Chief Medical Director, University College Hospital, Professor Jesse Otegbayo was there in company of the Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee Dr Abiodun Adeoye, Director of Administration- Mr. Stephen Oladejo and other distinguished personalities.

sod 26

The ceremony of sod-turning and the laying of the foundation stone was coordinated by Reverend Sam Omokhodion, a distinguished Professor of Paediatrics, Director of the Institute of Cardiovascular Diseases CoMUI and Chaplain for CoMUI and UCH.

sod 2

The First Foundation Stone was laid on behalf of the Pro-Chancellor by his representative, the Vice Chancellor, Professor Kayode Adebowale FAS mni. This he did alongside the Chairman, Board of Management, University College Hospital, while the Second Foundation Stone was laid by the Vice Chancellor and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic).

                                                 sod 17   sod 18

                                                                                                       sod 19

All the former Provosts present, led by Emeritus Professor Oluwole Akande, laid the Third Foundation Stone while the Provost, the Chief Medical Director, the President of ICOMAA WW and the CoMUI Student leaders laid the Fourth and final Foundation Stone. Special prayers were said by the Chaplain to commit the building project into God’s hands.

                                sod 20   sod 21

                                 sod 22   sod 23

On behalf of the entire CoMUI Community, students, staff and alumni, we express deep gratitude to the Keynote Speaker and Fund Raiser- in -Chief, Dr. Philip Ozuah.

Watch out for the entire Keynote, “From Initiative to Finitiative - An Academic Journey” on the CoMUI’s YouTube Channel.

Olamitoye4   Olamitoye10

Olamitoye11   sod 6

sod 7    sod 8

sod 9    sod 10

sod 11    sod 12

sad 14    sod 27

Social Links

Get In Touch