The inauguration of the Translational Research and Community Impact Committee (TRaCC) was held in the Board Room of the College of Medicine on Wednesday, March 10, 2021 at 2:00 pm. The Committee was set up to achieve the goal of establishing and improving on programmes in the College of Medicine to ensure that communities within which the College is situated are transformed through the outreach, research and capacity-building programmes carried out by the College. This objective stems from the present administration’s Together Agenda 2020-2024 Mission Statement Eight: Reaching out to the Community.

Among other things, TRaCC is set up to promote active translational research by providing support for the Institute of Advanced Medical Research and Training (IAMRAT) in achieving the aim of becoming the hub for Translational Research in the College; to strengthen the College Research and Innovation Management Unit (CRIM); to facilitate synergy between IAMRAT and CRIM in growing translational research in the College of Medicine. The Committee is also tasked with integrating all the programmes in the College into the activities of the Ibarapa Project; to encourage and reward community engagement activities and programmes by the members of staff and students of the College of Medicine; and to revive memorial lectures in the College of Medicine. In addition, the team has the mandate to develop a five-year strategic plan for Translational Research and Community Impact in the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan.

Present at the event were the Provost, College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Professor Olayinka Omigbodun (FAS, FNAMed); the Deputy Provost, Professor A. F. Adeniyi, and Barrister A. Agbaje who represented the Secretary to the College. Members of the newly inaugurated committee are:

Dr. Rufus Akinyemi, (IAMRAT)                                                                   Chairman,

Dr. Funmilola OlaOlorun (Community Medicine)                                         Co-Chair

Professor Atinuke Agunloye (Radiology, UCH Rep.                                                Member

& DCMAC, Research & Ethics UCH)

Dr. Mojisola Oluwasanu (Health Promotion and Education)             ”

Dr. Jibril Abdulmalik (Psychiatry)                                                                  ”

Dr. Amos Abolaji (Biochemistry)                                                                   ”

Dr. A. M. Adebayo (Acting Director, Ibarapa Project)                                  ”

Dr. Mary Osuh (Periodontology & Community Dentistry)                            ”

Dr. A.O. Adebiyi (CRIM Coordinator)                                                         ”

Dr. Olayinka Egbokhare (Controller, BCC)                                                   ”

Mr. Dele James (Principal Executive Officer, Faculty of Dentistry)       Secretary   

Student representatives on the committee are Titilope E. Afolabi and Olaoluwa Olorunfemi representing the postgraduate and undergraduate students respectively.


march10 2

Social Links

Get In Touch