The College of Medicine, University of Ibadan held the induction ceremony into the Physiotherapy Profession for the 2018/2019 graduating set on Tuesday, February 9, 2021 at the Paul Hendricksen Lecture Theatre, College of Medicine. The event which was delayed for over a session by the strike action and the global pandemic was held with strict compliance with COVID-19 regulations.

The Acting Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan, Professor A. B. Ekanola, was represented at the event by the Provost of the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Professor Olayinka O. Omigbodun. Also present were the other members of the College Management team – the Deputy Provost, Professor A. F. Adeniyi; the Deputy Registrar/Secretary to the College, Dr. Ikeoluwapo O. Moody, the Acting Medical Librarian, Dr. Grace Ajuwon, and the Financial Controller, Mrs. Oluwafolakemi A. Ajayi. Other dignitaries present at the occasion were the Chief Medical Director, Prof. J. A. Otegbayo; the Registrar, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria (MRTB), Dr. Olufunke T. Akanle, who presided on the oath taking ceremony; Professor Dipo Otolorin, the President, Ibadan College of Medicine Alumni Association Worldwide (ICOMAA); Professor Atinuke Agunloye, Chairperson College Ceremonials’ Committee; Dr. Omoyemi Ogwumike, Acting Head, Department of Physiotherapy and other distinguished members of the academic and professional communities.

The College Secretary welcomed all the dignitaries to the event while congratulating the inductees, their parents and their teachers. Thereafter, the Acting Head of Department of Physiotherapy, Dr. Omoyemi Ogwumike encouraged the new inductees to be good ambassadors of their department, the College of Medicine and the University of Ibadan as a whole. While giving her speech, the Provost of the College of Medicine, Professor Olayinka. O. Omigbodun using what she called the 4 Cs emphasised that the new physiotherapy professionals need to have a conviction about their purpose in life and be committed to it, maintain connections with their comrades/community, and be conscientious in their personal and professional conduct.

The Registrar, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria (MRTB), Dr. Olufunke T. Akanle, led the class of 2018/2019 in their professional oath taking. She admonished them to be true to the oath of the profession and to be passionate about service to humanity. Right after the oath taking ceremony, the newly commissioned Physiotherapist were warmly welcomed into the practice by Professor M. B. Olaogun, Senior Assistant Provost, College of Health Sciences, Bowen University, Iwo. In his address, the Chief Medical Director of the University College Hospital (UCH), Professor J. A. Otegbayo promised that seven deserving members of the graduating class will be given placements to observe their internship in UCH. The graduands were further treated to pieces of inspiring professional counsel by Professor Dipo Otolorin who centered his brief talk on patience, persistence and perspiration as prerequisites for success. In addition, Director, O-Physio Clinic charged the inductees on how to cope with practical challenges that may arise on the job.

The ceremony witnessed the induction of 31 physiotherapists, of which there were seventeen females and fourteen males. The Provost’s Award for excellent participation in community life went to Chisom Anastasia Nwaezuoke in the female category and Damilola Stephen Oluwatayo for the male category. Worthy of note are the prizes for excellent performance at the examination organized by Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria (MRTB) for Jesutofunmi Lois Olutayo (1st Position), Opeyemi Justina Olakanye (2nd Position) and Damilola Stephen Oluwatayo (3rd Position). The class valedictorian was Raphael Adebanjo Omosehin.


feb9 2

feb9 3

Social Links

Get In Touch